Ballot set for 2015 election

Published 4:01 pm Tuesday, March 10, 2015

The end of the qualifying period for local offices was Friday, February 27, at 5 p.m. Forty Jefferson Davis County candidates are on the ballot for local races in this year’s election.

The primary election is set for August 4, with run-offs where needed on August 25. The general election is November 3, with run-offs set for November 24.

All county elected positions except school board seats will be on the ballot. A complete list of candidates who have qualified to run in Jefferson Davis County and their political party include:

Email newsletter signup

Superintendent of Education: Kyseta Warner Armstrong-I, Allen Ray Dyess-R, Will L. Russell-D.

Tax Assessor/Collector: Kelley Ross-Brown-D, Belinda Hooker Butler-D.

Chancery Clerk: Charlene Hall Fairley-D, David L. Fortenberry-D.

Circuit Clerk: Clint W. Langley-D, Von Norwood-D.

Coroner: James “Jimmy” Slater-D.

Constable-Post 1: Zack Jackson-D, Gerobe N. Peters, Sr.-D.

Constable-Post 2: Harold Rhodes-D, Ava Peyton Warner-D.

Sheriff: Rev. Henry Allen McCullum-D, Ron Strickland-D.

Supervisor-District 1: Macon “Corky” Holliman-D.

Supervisor-District 2: Buford L. Drummond-D, Charles Wayne Reid-D.

Supervisor-District 3: Thomas Lee Arnold-D, James Graves-D, Charles Hulon Graves “Thompson”-D, John H. Thompson-D.

Supervisor-District 4: Shannon D. Dunn-D, Michael O. Evans-D, Terry “Red” Mathis-D, Larry Pace-D, Sedrick Washington-D.

Supervisor-District 5: Bobby R. Rushing-D.

Justice Court Judge-Post 1: Ronald “Ronnie” Barnes-D, Deanderea “Deede” Clavo-D, John Wayne Tolar-D, Bobby L. Wilson-D.

Justice Court Judge-Post 2: Vernon Dampier-D, Johnnie “Bankie” Easterling-D, Calvin L. Graves-D, Daryhl Hartzog-D, Dimple Johnson-Moreland-D, Ozell White-D, Dawn Renea Otis-I.

In addition to county elections, there will be elections for District Attorney and Mississippi Legislators representing Jefferson Davis County in Senate District 41 and House Districts 90, 91, and 100. There are also elections for the county representative for Transportation Commissioner and Public Service Commissioner:

Senate-District 41: Reggie Blackledge-D, Joey Fillingane-R.

House-District 90: John B. Pope, III-D, Noah L. Sanford-R, Ricky “Rick” Ward-R.

House-District 91: Bob Evans-D, Charles E. Bufkin-R.

District Attorney-15th Circuit Court District: Hal Kitrell-R.

Transportation Commissioner-Southern District: Tom King-R, Chad Toney-D.

Public Service Commissioner- Southern District: Mike Collier-R, Tom Blanton-D, Samuel F. “Sam” Britton-R, Tony Smith-R.

State offices on the 2015 ballot include Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Secretary of State, State Auditor, State Treasurer, Commissioner of Insurance, and Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce.