Grant funds summer reading

Published 4:45 pm Tuesday, June 22, 2021

The South Mississippi Regional Library system is pleased to be a recipient of a Save the Children Community Engagement grant in the amount of $20,000.

Founded in 1919, Save the Children works in over 100 countries to give children a healthy

start in life, the opportunity to learn, and protection from harm. They currently serve almost

Email newsletter signup

900 children in Marion County. The grant funds were awarded for community-wide initiatives that support Kindergarten Readiness and 3rd –Grade Proficiency in Reading and Math.

The grant will enable the Library to offer Summer Reading programs to children ages 5 and

older in Marion and Jefferson Davis counties.

During the Summer Reading program, the Prentiss Regional Library and Dr. Frank L. Leggett Library in Bassfield will offer local children live and virtual events, free books, take home activity kits, and prizes for reading and participation.

The other focus of the grant is a Kindergarten Readiness program. As part of this program, the Columbia-Marion County Public Library will host two parent workshops on June 28 and June 30 from 2 p.m. until 3:30 p.m. and distribute 300 Kindergarten Readiness kits to families with children entering Kindergarten in the next school year.

Online coaching and additional free resources will available for the families to aid them in preparing their child for Kindergarten.

“We have been partners with Save the Children for several years now. We were overjoyed to

discover this new opportunity to serve our community,” stated Library Director, Ryda Worthy.

The South Mississippi Regional Library, serving Marion and Jefferson Davis counties, with libraries located in Columbia, Bassfield and Prentiss, provides resources and information for

the educational and recreational needs of its customers.

Founded in 1912, the Library has

been offering a Summer Reading Program for 65 years. The system is supported by the cities

of Columbia, Prentiss, Bassfield and the Marion and Jefferson Davis Counties.