Voters in JDC have different ballots for Nov. 8 General Election

Published 7:35 am Wednesday, October 26, 2022

The ballots are set and ready for the general election on Nov. 8. There are three different ballets for Jefferson Davis County.

Voters in District 1 will have the school board position on their ballot, as will voters in District 2. Voters in Districts 3, 4 and 5 will have the same ballot, excluding the school board election.

The election of school board members in Jefferson Davis County is staggered.

Email newsletter signup

Shari Bryant and Alan Hawthorne have qualified for the school board in District 1. Bobby Wilson is unopposed in District 2.

Candidates must be a qualified voter of the district in which election is sought, and have a high school diploma or its equivalent. He or she must be a resident of the county district in which he/she seeks election for two years preceding the day of election.

All three candidates filed a Statement of Intent and Petition containing the signature of not less than 50 qualified voters of the district with the Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk. Each board member serves a term of six years.

Also on the ballot are the District 13 Chancery Court Judge positions. David Shoemake and Albert Turnage are running in Place 1. Gerald Martin is running unopposed in Place 2.

Tony Mozingo, Prentiss Harrell and Claiborne “Buddy” McDonald are all running unopposed for their places as 15th District Circuit Court Judges.

Judge Tony Mozingo announced his retirement Oct. 4 from the 15th Judicial District Court of Mississippi to become the new Executive Director of the Homes of Hope for Children.

Mississippi Governor Tate Reeves will appoint someone to fill Mozingo’s position until a special election can be held in November 2023 since the ballot had already been finalized.

Also on the General Election ballot are the elections of the U. S. House of Representatives and the Mississippi Court of Appeals.

The polls will be open on Election Day from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

The District 1 ballot can be seen here. The District 2 ballot is on page 8.

If you have any questions, please call Election Commissioner Chairperson Linda Speights or Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk Clint Langley at 601-792- 4231.