Bryant wins District 1 school board position

Published 5:08 pm Wednesday, November 16, 2022

District 1 in Jefferson Davis County has a new school board representative. Shari Bryant defeated Alan Hawthorne in the Nov. 8 General Election to serve the Jefferson Davis County School District.

“As a long time resident of Jefferson Davis County, I am excited for the opportunity to serve as a member of the Jefferson Davis County School Board,” said Bryant.

“My family has been invested in this community and, specifically, our school system, for over 20 years.”

Email newsletter signup

Bryant received 340 votes and 60.5 percent ballots cast to Hawthorne’s 222 votes and 39.5 percent.

“The success of this county is dependent upon the quality of education and the success of the students produced by our school system,” Bryant added.

“I want our graduates to have plenty of opportunities to continue their education at the college level or join the workforce as competent, skilled workers. I want them to have the choice to stay home and prosper in Jefferson Davis County and help our community grow and improve.”

“Thank you for the opportunity to join with the current board members to continue to serve my community and work with Superintendent Ike Haynes to support the students and educators of Jefferson Davis County.”

Bobby Wilson will continue to serve as the District 2 school board member as he was unopposed in the election. The election of school board members in Jefferson Davis County is staggered, with each member serving six years.

District 13 Chancery Court Judge Place 1 election, David Shoemake won more votes than Albert Turnage in the county with a count of 1,591 to 1,391. Shoemake also carried the district 7,796 to 2,775 to allow him to serve four more years in the chancery court.

Shoemake covers Jefferson Davis, Covington Lawrence, Simpson and Smith counties and this will be his fourth term in office.  Gerald Martin ran unopposed in District 13 Chancery Court Judge  Place 2.

Tony Mozingo, Prentiss Harrell and Claiborne “Buddy” McDonald are all running unopposed for their places as 15th District Circuit Court Judges.

Judge Tony Mozingo announced his retirement Oct. 4 from the 15th Judicial District Court of Mississippi to become the new Executive Director of the Homes of Hope for Children.

Mississippi Governor Tate Reeves will appoint someone to fill Mozingo’s position until a special election can be held in November 2023 since the ballot had already been finalized.

U.S. House of Representatives 3rd Congressional District incumbent Michael Guest (R), received 48.5 percent of the vote in Jefferson Davis County with 1,555 votes. Democrat challenger Shuwaski A. Young took the county with 1,653 votes resulting in 51.5 percent. Guest had 71.1 percent of the vote district-wide allowing the Congressman to serve a third four-year term in office.

Mississippi Supreme Court, Court of Appeals Judge Virginia Carlton,  the non-partisan incumbent for District 4, Position 1, will begin her third eight-year term after defeating challenger Bruce W. Burton. Results in Jefferson Davis County showed 1,426 votes for Carlton and 1,338 for Burton.

Of 8,308 eligible voters in the county, roughly 3,200 submitted ballots resulting in a low voter turnout according to Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk Clint Langley.