Ballot growing larger in county election as qualifying ends today at 5 p.m.

Published 10:01 am Wednesday, February 1, 2023

Ten new supervisor candidates have qualified in the upcoming county elections as of Tuesday afternoon. John Emmit Stamps, Dewayne V. Gholar, Joseph Kerley, LeArchie Nicholson and Allen Ray Dyess are on the ballot for District 2. On the ballot for District 4 is Orian Hooker and Troy Lee Buckley and for District 5 is James (J.R.) Griffith, Charles Hicks and Russ Berry.

Also new to the ballot is Ralph Hanegan for District 2 Election Commissioner.

Qualifying for the 2023 county and state elections ends Feb. 1 at 5 p.m. The primary election will be Aug. 8, and the general election is Nov. 7. The primary run-off election, if required, will be held Aug. 29. The general run-off election, if required, will be held Nov. 28.

Email newsletter signup

Those running for county offices should qualify with the Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk’s office and candidates for state offices should qualify with the Mississippi Secretary of State’s office. Candidates may qualify for the election as Democratic, Republican or Independent.

Countywide positions that will be open include Sheriff, Chancery Clerk, Circuit Clerk, Tax Assessor/Collector and Coroner. County District positions on the ballot will include Supervisor, Justice Court Judge and Constable. Also on the ballot are Jefferson Davis County Elections Commissioners in Districts 2 and 4. The election commissioners are on a rotating schedule.

Ron Strickland and Duane Dampier have qualified for Sheriff.  JDC Circuit Clerk Clint Langley, JDC Coroner Dedra Johnson and Tax Assessor/Collector Kelley Ross-Brown are all qualified, but do not have opponents to date. Bobby Rushing and Cynthia White have qualified for Chancery Clerk. Current Chancery Clerk Charlene Fairley is not seeking re-election.

Michael Davis has qualified for Constable Post 1. Vernon Dampier and Denise Jackson have qualified for Constable Post 2. For Justice Court Judge, Calvin Graves has qualified for Post 2 and LaTonya Blanchard for Post 1.

In the JDC Supervisors’ race, Corky Holliman and Robert Larkin have qualified in District 1. In District 2, Robert Gholar, Derek Hall and Ricky Barrett have qualified in addition to the two mentioned above.  District 2 Supervisor Charles Reid will retire at the end of the year.

District 3 Demarrio Booth supervisor is running and is unopposed to date. District 4 qualifiers are Terry Mathis and Michael Evans in addition to Orian Hooker and Troy Lee Buckley mentioned above.

In addition to the three mentioned above, District 5 Supervisor candidates are Earnest Rankin and Jerry Gholar. District 5 Supervisor Bobby Rushing is running for Chancery Clerk.

Stephen Abram has qualified for District 4 Election Commissioner.

The special election for the 15th Circuit Judge will also be on the ballot. Judge Tony Mozingo announced his retirement Oct. 4 from the 15th Judicial District Court of Mississippi to become the new Executive Director of the Homes of Hope for Children.

Governor Tate Reeves appointed Brad Touchstone to fill the position effective Jan. 1 until the special election can be held in November. Touchstone has qualified and will be on the ballot.

For more voting information contact the Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk’s office at 601-792-4231.