Final list of candidates set for Jefferson Davis County primary Aug. 8

Published 9:00 am Thursday, February 2, 2023

The ballot is set in the 2023 election with a large turnout for county offices. Over 30 candidates are vying for positions. Qualifying ended Wednesday afternoon at 5 p.m. The primary election will be Aug. 8, and the general election is Nov. 7. The primary run-off election, if required, will be held Aug. 29. The general run-off election, if required, will be held Nov. 28.

Below is the list of candidates and affiliations.


Email newsletter signup

Ron Strickland, Democrat

Duane Dampier, Democrat

Ricky Davis, Democrat


Chancery Clerk

Bobby Rushing, Democrat

Cynthia Harper-White, Democrat


Circuit Clerk

Clint Langley, Democrat


Tax Assessor/Collector

Kelley Ross Brown, Democrat



Dedra Johnson, Democrat


District 1 Supervisor

Macon “Corky” Holliman, Democrat

Robert Larkin Jr., Democrat


District 2 Supervisor

Robert Gholar, Democrat

Derek Hall, Democrat

Ricky Barrett, Republican

John Emmit Stamps, Independent

DeWayne V. Gholar, Democrat

Joseph Kerley, Democrat

LeArchie Nicholson, Democrat

Allen Ray Dyess, Democrat


District 3 Supervisor

Demarrio S. Booth, Democrat


District 4 Supervisor

Terry Mathis, Democrat

Michael Evans, Democrat

Orian Hooker, Democrat

Troy Lee Buckley, Democrat


District 5 Supervisor

Earnest Rankin, Democrat

Jerry Gholar, Democrat

James J. R. Griffith, Democrat

Charles Hicks, Independent

Russ Berry, Republican


Justice Court Judge

Post 1

LaTonya Blanchard, Democrat

Bobby Wilson, Republican

Jurtyne R. Youngblood, Democrat


Post 2

Calvin Graves, Democrat



Post 1

Michael Davis, Democrat


Post 2

Vernon Dampier, Democrat

Denise Jackson, Democrat


Election Commissioner

District 2

Ralph Hanegan, Independent


District 4

Stephen Abram, Independent


Current Chancery Clerk Charlene Fairley is not seeking re-election, nor is District 2 Supervisor Charles Reid. District 5 Supervisor Bobby Rushing is running for Chancery Clerk.

A special election is being held for a 15th Circuit Judge position after former Judge Tony Mozingo resigned last year. Brad Touchstone has qualified for this position and is running unopposed. Touchstone has been acting in this position since Jan. 1 when he was appointed by Governor Tate Reeves.

For more voting information contact the Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk’s office at 601-792-4231.