Important dates released for upcoming election

Published 5:40 am Wednesday, May 10, 2023

The Jefferson Davis County Election Commission has released some important dates regarding the upcoming election.

Jefferson Davis County candidates and political committees supporting or opposing a 2023 candidate must turn in  Campaign Finance reports to the Circuit Clerk office before 5 p.m. on May 10.

Absentee voting begins June 24. The Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk’s office will be open for absentee voting Monday through Friday from 8 a.m.  until 5 p.m. The office will also be open two Saturdays, July 29 and August 5 from 8 a.m. until noon.

Email newsletter signup

“If you are a Jefferson Davis County voter and have moved, please makes sure that your current address has been updated,” said Jefferson Davis County Election Commissioner Linda Speights.    

To participate in the Primary Election, registration deadline is July 10 by 5 P.M.

The Primary Election is Aug. 8, with the polls being open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

All county offices are on the ballot

Ron Strickland, Duane Dampier and Ricky Davis are on the ballot for JDC Sheriff.  JDC Circuit Clerk Clint Langley, JDC Coroner Dedra Johnson and Tax Assessor/Collector Kelley Ross-Brown are all qualified, but do not have opponents. Bobby Rushing and Cynthia White have qualified for Chancery Clerk. Current Chancery Clerk Charlene Fairley is not seeking re-election.

Michael Davis has qualified for Constable Post 1. Vernon Dampier and Denise Jackson have qualified for Constable Post 2. For Justice Court Judge, Calvin Graves has qualified for Post 2 and LaTonya Blanchard, Bobby Wilson and Jurtyne R. Youngblood for Post 1.

In the JDC Supervisors’ race, Corky Holliman and Robert Larkin have qualified in District 1. In District 2, Robert Gholar, Derek Hall, Ricky Barrett John Emitt Stamps, DeWayne V. Gholar, Joseph Kerley and Allen Ray Dyess. District 2 Supervisor Charles Reid will retire at the end of the year.

District 3 Demarrio Booth supervisor is running and is unopposed to date. District 4 qualifiers are Terry Mathis, Michael Evans, Orian Hooker and Troy Lee Buckley. District 5 Supervisor candidates are Earnest Rankin,  Jerry Gholar James “J.R.” Griffith, Charles Hicks and Russ Berry. District 5 Supervisor Bobby Rushing is running for Chancery Clerk.

Stephen Abram is unopposed for District 4 Election Commissioner. A District 2 Election Commissioner will be appointed by District 2 Supervisor Charles Reid until one can be elected. Ralph Hanegan was on the ballot, but has since retired.

Current Chancery Clerk Charlene Fairley is not seeking re-election, nor is District 2 Supervisor Charles Reid. District 5 Supervisor Bobby Rushing is running for Chancery Clerk.

A special election is being held for a 15th Circuit Judge position after former Judge Tony Mozingo resigned last year. Brad Touchstone has qualified for this position and is running unopposed. Touchstone has been acting in this position since Jan. 1 when he was appointed by Governor Tate Reeves.

For more voting information contact the Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk’s office at 601-792-4231.