Absentee voting now open for August Primary Election

Published 9:55 am Wednesday, June 28, 2023

The 2023 Jefferson Davis County Primary Election is only six weeks away, and absentee voting has begun.  Anyone who will be out of town on Election Day, is in college, is over the age of 65, or is not physically able to go to the polls, can vote absentee.

Voters should bring a photo ID with them Jefferson Davis Circuit Clerk office, located in the County Building on Third Street.  The office is open from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday. The Primary Election is Aug. 8. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

The office will also be open on the two Saturdays immediately prior to Election Day, July 29 and Aug. 5, from 8 a.m. until noon.

Email newsletter signup

The Primary Election is Aug. 8. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

The final day to register for any election is 30 days prior to that election. For the Primary, that deadline is Monday, July 10, at 5 p.m.

The registration deadline to vote in the Primary Runoff Election on Aug. 29 is 5 p.m., Monday, July 31.

Anyone who is already registered to vote does not need to re-register unless their address has changed.

All JDC county offices are on the ballot.

One District 5 Supervisor candidate, Russ Berry, has removed his name from the ballot.

LeArchie Nicholson was removed earlier this year after it was determined that he did not qualify to run.

Ron Strickland, Duane Dampier and Ricky Davis are on the ballot for JDC Sheriff.  JDC Circuit Clerk Clint Langley, JDC Coroner Dedra Johnson and Tax Assessor/Collector Kelley Ross-Brown are all qualified, but do not have opponents. Bobby Rushing and Cynthia White have qualified for Chancery Clerk. Current Chancery Clerk Charlene Fairley is not seeking re-election.

Michael Davis has qualified for Constable Post 1. Vernon Dampier and Denise Jackson have qualified for Constable Post 2. For Justice Court Judge, Calvin Graves has qualified for Post 2 and LaTonya Blanchard, Bobby Wilson and Jurtyne R. Youngblood for Post 1.

In the JDC Supervisors’ race, Corky Holliman and Robert Larkin have qualified in District 1. In District 2, Robert Gholar, Derek Hall, Ricky Barrett John Emmitt Stamps, DeWayne V. Gholar, Joseph Kerley and Allen Ray Dyess. District 2 Supervisor Charles Reid will retire at the end of the year.

District 3 Demarrio Booth supervisor is running and is unopposed to date. District 4 qualifiers are Terry Mathis, Michael Evans, Orian Hooker and Troy Lee Buckley. District 5 Supervisor candidates are Earnest Rankin, Jerry Gholar James “J.R.” Griffith and Charles Hicks. District 5 Supervisor Bobby Rushing is running for Chancery Clerk.

Stephen Abram is unopposed for District 4 Election Commissioner. District 2 Election Commissioner is Ann Stringer. She was appointed by District 2 Supervisor Charles Reid after Ralph Hanegan, who was on the ballot, announced his re-


Brad Touchstone has qualified for is running unopposed for the 15th Circuit Judge position.

For more voting information or to absentee vote by mail, contact the Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk’s office at 601-792-4231.