Absentee voting ends tomorrow; election is Tuesday

Published 6:00 am Friday, August 4, 2023

The 2023 Jefferson Davis County Primary Election is Tuesday, and absentee voting ends tomorrow.  Anyone who will be out of town on Election Day, is in college, is over the age of 65, or is not physically able to go to the polls, can vote absentee.

Voters should bring a photo ID with them Jefferson Davis Circuit Clerk office, located in the County Building on Third Street.  The office is open from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday through Friday.

The last day to absentee vote is Aug. 5 from 8 a.m. until noon.

Email newsletter signup

The Primary Election is Aug. 8. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

All JDC county offices are on the ballot. Candidates are running Democrat unless otherwise noted. Finance reports were due in the JDC Circuit Clerk’s office Aug. 1 at 5 p.m.

One District 5 Supervisor candidate, Russ Berry, has removed his name from the ballot.

LeArchie Nicholson was removed earlier this year after it was determined that he did not qualify to run.

Ron Strickland, Duane Dampier and Ricky Davis are on the ballot for JDC Sheriff.  JDC Circuit Clerk Clint Langley, JDC Coroner Dedra Johnson and Tax Assessor/Collector Kelley Ross-Brown are all qualified, but do not have opponents. Bobby Rushing and Cynthia White have qualified for Chancery Clerk. Current Chancery Clerk Charlene Fairley is not seeking re-election.

Michael Davis has qualified for Constable Post 1. Vernon Dampier and Denise Jackson have qualified for Constable Post 2. For Justice Court Judge, Calvin Graves has qualified for Post 2. LaTonya Blanchard and Jurtyne R. Youngblood are on the Democratic ballot for Post 1. The winner will face Republican candidate Bobby Wilson in the General Election.

In the JDC Supervisors’ race, Corky Holliman and Robert Larkin are running for District 1. In District 2, Robert Gholar, Derek Hall, DeWayne V. Gholar, Joseph Kerley and Allen Ray Dyess are on the Democratic Primary ballot. The winner will face Independent candidate John Emmitt Stamps and Republican candidate Ricky Barrett in the General Election in November. District 2 Supervisor Charles Reid will retire at the end of the year.

District 3 Supervisor Demarrio Booth is running unopposed. Running for District 4 are Terry Mathis, Michael Evans, Orian Hooker and Troy Lee Buckley. District 5 Supervisor Democratic candidates are Earnest Rankin, Jerry Gholar and James “J.R.” Griffith. The winner of that race will face Independent candidate Charles Hicks in the General Election. District 5 Supervisor Bobby Rushing is running for Chancery Clerk.

Stephen Abram is unopposed for District 4 Election Commissioner. District 2 Election Commissioner is Ann Stringer. She was appointed by District 2 Supervisor Charles Reid after Ralph Hanegan, who was on the ballot, announced his retirement.

Fifteenth Circuit Court Judge Brad Touchstone and District Attorney Hal Kittrell are running unopposed. Also running unopposed and representing Jefferson Davis County are District 35 Senator Andy Berry and District 90 State Representative Noah Sanford. In the District 91 Representative race incumbent Bob Evans will face Steve Moreman in the General Election in November.

For more voting information contact the Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk’s office at 601-792-4231.