Davis, Strickland in run-off for JDC Sheriff

Published 11:04 pm Tuesday, August 8, 2023

Voter turn-out was low in the August Primary Tuesday with just over 3,500 votes cast. This is less than 50 percent of the 8,309 registered voters.

Jefferson Davis County Sheriff candidates Ricky Davis and Ron Strickland will be in the Primary Run-Off later this month. Davis received a total of 1,340 votes to Strickland’s 918. Duane Dampier received 850 votes.

Cynthia Harper-White narrowly defeated Bobby Rushing for JDC Chancery Clerk with 1,550 votes to Rushing’s 1,493.

Email newsletter signup

Jurtyne R. Youngblood won the Democratic nomination for Justice Court Judge Post 1.  She defeated Latonya Blanchard 917 to 514. Youngblood will face Bobby Wilson in the General Election in November.

Denise Jackson won the Constable Post 2 position defeating Vernon Dampier 774 to 720.

Corky Holliman defeated Robert Larkin for District 1 Supervisor 364 to 197.

There will be a run-off between Robert Gholar and Derek Hall for District 2 Supervisor. Robert Gholar received 162 votes to Hall’s 158. Also on the ballot was Allen Ray Dyess with 143 votes, DeWayne Gholar with 38 and Joe Kerley with 85. The winner of the Primary Run-Off will face Independent candidate John Emmitt Stamps and Republican candidate Ricky Barrett in the General Election in November.

In the District 4 Supervisor race, Terry Mathis received 232 votes and will face Michael Evans in the run-off who had 221 votes. Also in that race were Orian Hooker with 68 votes and Troy Lee Buckley with 130.

Jerry Gholar won the District 5 Supervisor’s Democratic race and will face Independent candidate Charles Hicks in the General Election. Gholar received 372 votes. James J. R. Griffith received 201 votes and Earnest Ranking 68 votes.

Incumbents JDC Circuit Clint Langley, JDC Coroner Dedra Johnson, Tax Assessor/Collector Kelley Ross-Brown, Post 1 Constable Michael Davis, Post 2 Justice Court Judge Calvin Graves and District 3 Supervisor Demarrio Booth were all unopposed.

These numbers include the over 300 absentee ballots that were cast. Precinct by precinct numbers can be found in the chart on page 1. Graph totals do not include the absentee ballots. All results are unofficial.

The August Primary Run-Off will be held Aug. 29.