Democratic run-off election is Tuesday

Published 9:01 am Thursday, August 24, 2023

Absentee voting is now open for the Primary Run-Off next week. Visit the Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk’s Office Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. or this Saturday from 8 a.m. until noon to cast your vote. You will not be able to absentee vote after Saturday at noon.

Anyone who will be out of town on Election Day, is in college, is over the age of 65, or is not physically able to go to the polls, can vote absentee.

Voters should bring a photo ID with them Jefferson Davis Circuit Clerk office, located in the County Building on Third Street.  The Primary Run-Off is Aug. 29. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Email newsletter signup

On the ballot is Jefferson Davis County Sheriff, District 2 Supervisor and District 4 Supervisor. Ricky Davis and Ron Strickland will face off for Sheriff. Davis received a total of 1,340 votes to Strickland’s 918 in the Aug. 8 Primary. Duane Dampier received 850 votes.

There will be a run-off between Robert Gholar and Derek Hall for District 2 Supervisor. Robert Gholar received 162 votes to Hall’s 158. Also on the ballot was Allen Ray Dyess with 143 votes, DeWayne Gholar with 38 and Joe Kerley with 85. The winner of Tuesday’s race will face Independent candidate John Emmitt Stamps and Republican candidate Ricky Barrett in the General Election in November.

The District 4 Supervisor’s race will be decided Tuesday. Terry Mathis and Michael Evans will be on the ballot. Mathis received 232 votes and Evans 221 votes in the Primary. Also in that race were Orian Hooker with 68 votes and Troy Lee Buckley with 130.

Voter turn-out was low in the Primary Aug. 8 with just over 3,500 votes cast. This is less than 50 percent of the 8,309 registered voters.

Jerry Gholar won the District 5 Supervisor’s Democratic race in the Primary and will face Independent candidate Charles Hicks in the General Election. Gholar received 372 votes. James J. R. Griffith received 201 votes and Earnest Ranking 68 votes.

Jurtyne R. Youngblood also won the Democratic nomination for Justice Court Judge Post 1.  She defeated Latonya Blanchard 917 to 514. Youngblood will face Bobby Wilson in the General Election in November.

If you voted Republican in the Primary on Aug. 8, you will not be able to vote in this election. A total of 353 voters voted Republican in the previous election.  A sample Democratic ballot is on page 8. There is no Republican ballot.