Strickland wins fourth term as Jefferson Davis County Sheriff

Published 9:10 pm Tuesday, August 29, 2023

Ron Strickland has won the bid for Jefferson Davis County Sheriff and will begin his fourth term Jan 1, 2024.

Strickland defeated Ricky Davis by just 48 votes. Strickland received 1,539 to Davis’ 1,491.

Voter turn-out was low again in the August Primary Run-Off Tuesday with 3,042 votes cast. This is just over 36 percent of the 8,323 registered voters.

Email newsletter signup

In the District 2 Supervisors race, Derek “Squealer” Hall defeated Robert “Boot” Gholar 347 to 232. Hall faces Independent candidate John Emmitt Stamps and Republican candidate Ricky Barrett in the General Election in November.

Michael O. Evans defeated Terry Mathis in the District 4 Supervisors race. Evans received 378 and Mathis received 285.

These numbers include the 263 absentee ballots that were cast. Precinct by precinct numbers can be found in the chart BELOW. All results are unofficial.

Other local races on the General Election ballot will be the District 5 Supervisor and Justice Court Judge Post 1 races.

Jerry Gholar won the democratic nomination for District 5 and will face Independent candidate Charles Hicks in November.

Jurtyne R. Youngblood won the Democratic nomination for Justice Court Judge Post 1 and will face Republican Bobby Wilson in the General Election.

Also on the General Ballot will be the Mississippi House of Representatives District 91 race. Incumbent Bob Evans will face Republican nominee Steve Moreman.

The General Election will be held Nov. 7.