New JDC Board of Supervisors set for 2024 after Tuesday’s election

Published 7:37 am Wednesday, November 8, 2023

Over half of the 8,323 registered voters in Jefferson Davis County voted in the General Election Tuesday with 4,299 votes cast.

In the District 2 Supervisor’s race, Republican candidate Ricky Barrett defeated Democratic candidate Derek “Squealer” Hall and Independent candidate John Emmitt Stamps. Barrett received 406 votes to Hall’s 382 and Stamps’ 154.

Democratic candidate Jerry Gholar won the District 5 Supervisor’s race with 595 votes. Independent candidate Charles Hicks received 162 votes.

Email newsletter signup

Jurtyne Reimonenq Youngblood will serve the county as Post 1 Justice Court Judge defeating Republican candidate  Bobby Wilson 1,243 to 921.

Also on the General Ballot was the Mississippi House of Representatives District 91 race. Incumbent Bob Evans defeated Republican candidate Steve Moreman with Jefferson Davis County giving Evans 2,688 votes and Moremann 1217.

The majority of Jefferson Davis County voters supported Brandon Presley for Governor, D, Ryan Grover for Lieutenant Governor, Ty Pinkins for Secretary of State and Greta Kemp Martin for Attorney General

These numbers include the 447 absentee ballots that were cast.

All results are unofficial.