Ballot set for JDC Election Commissioners

Published 10:40 am Wednesday, February 28, 2024

Qualifying is now closed for Jefferson Davis County Election Commissioners on the November General Election Ballot. Commissioners in Districts 1, 3 and 5 will be on the ballot. Linda J. Speights qualified for District 1, Towander M. Applewhite in District 3 and Mattie N. Lewis in District 5 have all qualified and are unopposed. The deadline for qualifying for these positions was Feb. 1.

JDC School Board members for District 3 and District 4, as well as District 2 Election Commissioner, will also be on the ballot in November. Their qualifying will begin Aug. 7 with the deadline being Sept. 6. Qualifiers must be a resident of their district in the county for two years prior to the election and be a qualified elector of the county.

The District 2 Election Commissioner office was vacated by the previous commissioner, thus requiring the JDC Board of Supervisors to appoint a commissioner until the November election could be held. Under these circumstances, a different set of rules applies making this position have a different qualifying date than the other districts.

Email newsletter signup

The deadline to register to vote is 30 days prior to any election.

A Presidential Primary election will be held March 12.

On the Democratic ballot, Joseph R. Biden Jr. is running for President and Ty Pinkins is running for the U. S. Senate.

Running for President on the Republican ballot are Ron DeSantis, Nikki R. Haley, Vivek Ramaswamy and Donald J. Trump.

U. S. Senate candidates are Ghannon Burton, Dan Eubanks and Roger Wicker.

Michael Guest is unopposed on the Republican ballot for the U. S. House of Representatives.

The Jefferson Davis County Circuit Clerk’s Office is open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. and is located behind the courthouse on Third Street in Prentiss. For more information, contact the circuit clerk’s Office at 601-792-4231.