Two new school board members for JDC

Published 4:56 pm Wednesday, November 7, 2018

There will be two new school board members for Jefferson Davis County in January 2019.

In the District 4 race, Shonda Burre Ard-Kelly received 384 and defeated her three opponents. Danny Sanders received 291 votes, Melinda Stewart 149 votes and incumbent Beulah Crumedy Varnado Walker 60 votes. There is no run-off for school board positions.

Nadine Thompson defeated incumbent John Napoleon Bass for the District 3 School Board position.

Email newsletter signup

Thompson received 500 votes to Bass’ 385.

There will be a run- off for the Jefferson Davis County Constable Post 1 position.

Michael E. Davis received 683 votes and will face Gerobe N. Peters in the run-off.

Peters received 741 votes.

Also on the ballot for that position was Jason Wambolt who received 605 votes.

This is a special election for the position left vacant by Zack Jackson and will fulfill the one year left in the term.

In the District 13 Post 1 Chancery Court Judge race, John Alan Buffington received 2,242 votes to James David Shoemake’s 1,538.

Gerald M. Martin ran unopposed for the District 13 Post 2 Chancery Court Judge position.

District 15 Circuit Court Judges Anthony A. ‘Tony’ Mozingo, Prentiss G. Harrell and Claiborne ‘Buddy’ McDonald all ran unopposed for the three posts in that position.

State positions and total numbers for each precinct can be found in this week’s edition of The Headlight.

These are machine counts only and do not include absentee votes.

There were a total of 448 in-house absentee votes cast and 102 mail-out votes yet to be counted at press time.

A total of 4,902 ballots were cast out of the 8,903 registered voters in Jeffer- son Davis County.

The run-off will be held Nov. 27

Official numbers and more information on the run-off and absentee voting will be in next week’s edition.